Want to Play with Sticks and String?

So, a long time ago I chopped down a big weed in my yard and made my first Garden Loom. You can find the original story here.

Since then, I have had a lot of fun experimenting and making my own stuff, from crackers to natural laundry detergent to T-shirt dresses to ketchup. One of my friends asked if she could hang out and learn how I make natural toothpaste and hippie deodorant and the like, and somehow the idea was born that I could teach classes for this kind of thing. With a few of these under my belt at local libraries and community centers, I thought, “How fun would it be to do a Garden Loom Workshop?!”

IMAG0294

So, that’s what is happening. I hope that you or someone you know will join me at Schwartz Living Market at 1317 East Carson St in the South Side of Pittsburgh from 1-3 pm on Saturday, June 14. I have a ton of supplies, so everyone will be able to make and take home more than one mini garden loom.

IMG_20140528_141941

Hop on over to my improved website (still a little bit under construction) or comment to this post if you would like to sign up. The class size is limited to 20 students, and I would like to fill the class, since I am splitting the profits with Schwartz Living Market, which is a really cool place. I’ll be bringing all the materials and tools, but if you have any sticks you really like, you can bring your own! 🙂

Please help me spread the word!

 

2 thoughts on “Want to Play with Sticks and String?

  1. Hi Andrea,
    I love this idea! I had forgotten that I did this project in high school art class. I guess my mom threw it out!

    • Jeri, make a new one, or have a class at your shop! It is a perfect way to use up small yarn amounts, especially when people are thinking gardening rather than knitting in the summer.

Leave a Reply

